

## "Gravity" in Real Life: Legal and Political Implications of an Accident in Space Monday, December 9, 2013

## **Biographies**

In Alphabetical Order

**Henry Hertzfeld** is a Research Professor of Space Policy and International Affairs in the Space Policy Institute at the Elliott School of International Affairs, and an Adjunct Professor of Law at George Washington University in Washington, DC. He has authored numerous studies and lectured to professional audiences on topics of U.S. and international legal and regulatory issues related to space including the analysis of liability, commercialization of space, and space debris. Professor Hertzfeld is also an expert in the economics of launch vehicles, earth observations, technology transfer, and other space programs. Professor Hertzfeld teaches the Space Law course at GW and is the Faculty Advisor to the Space Law Moot Court Team.

**Darren McKnight** is the Technical Director for Integrity Applications, Inc. (IAI) based in Chantilly, Virginia. He leads teams to develop creative solutions across widely disparate domains: space systems, renewable energy, predictive awareness for infectious disease outbreaks, bioterrorism, orbital debris, the entertainment industry, and youth soccer training. Dr. McKnight is an active researcher in global sustainability problems that span outer space, quality of life, and workforce productivity. Before coming to IAI, Dr. McKnight served as Senior Vice President and Director of Science and Technology Strategy at Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC). He also served as Assistant Professor of Physics at the Air Force Academy from 1986-1990.

Dr. McKnight has recently served on the National Research Council's Committee on NASA's Orbital Debris and Micrometeoroid Program, Defense Science Board Summer Study on 21<sup>st</sup> Century Strategic Technology Vectors, and IBM's Global Innovation Outlook (GIO) Team. He has authored over 70 technical papers and presented them in 12 countries. He has appeared on multiple TV, radio, and newspaper interviews including with Discovery Channel, BBC, CBC, Space News, The Space Show, etc. Dr. McKnight received his Bachelor's Degree from the United States Air Force Academy in Engineering Sciences, his Master's Degree from the University of New Mexico in Mechanical Engineering, and his Doctorate from the University of Colorado in Aerospace Engineering Sciences.

**Kirk Shireman** is serving as the deputy director of NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston. In his position, Mr. Shireman works with Johnson Center Director Ellen Ochoa to manage one of NASA's largest installations and help oversee a broad range of human spaceflight activities. Prior to being named deputy center director, he served as deputy program manager of the International Space Station Program. Mr. Shireman also served as the chair of the International Space Station Mission Management Team.

Mr. Shireman joined NASA in 1985. He began his career in Navigation, Control & Aeronautics Division as Principle Function Manager. In 1989, he became manager of Solid Rocket Booster and External Tank Separation for the space shuttle program. He has been recognized with NASA's Exceptional Achievement Medal for successful integration of the International Space Station's Russian elements. He also received the Silver Snoopy award in 1990 and the Presidential Rank Award in 2010. In 2013, Mr. Shireman received the Eagle Manned Mission Award for his outstanding leadership of the International Space Station.

Mr. Shireman holds a bachelor's degree in aerospace engineering from Texas A&M University.

**Marcia S. Smith** is the founder and editor of SpacePolicyOnline.com; she is also President of the Space and Technology Policy Group, LLC. She has almost four decades of experience in space policy, including 31 years at the Congressional Research Service on Capitol Hill (1975-2006), and three at the National Research Council's Space Studies Board and Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (2006-2009). Ms. Smith is the North American Editor of the journal *Space Policy*, and is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the American Astronautical Society (AAS). She was awarded the AAS "John F. Kennedy Astronautics Award" in 2006.